3 Responses to “comedy central redesign.”

  1. Gabe Lutge December 10, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Yeah, you make good points, and I like your version better. The old design definitely needed an update, and I like the font and simplicity of what they’re going for… but you’re right that it doesn’t capture any sense of what the channel is. Well done.

  2. marshall minshew December 11, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    I prefer the simplicity and ambiguity of their design, but agree that flipping the CENTRAL is a bit much. There’s an interesting tension with the legible flippability of CEN and the N actually made me look at it upside-down (which I found a comedic perspective, so that’s good) but I found myself trying to read more into it. I really like their copyright symbol rip; I see and appreciate a reference to satire’s protection from copyright infringement.

    A slightly simpler variation would be to just have CENTRAL be mirrored. The CEN legibility thing would be intact. You would lose the head-flipping thing, but I see animation potential with rotating the entire logo horizontally about the Cc symbol. Like a weathervane spinning, perhaps with smack, honk, boing, etc. soundbites (and maybe laughtracks.)

    I find their Cc symbol beautifully simple. It’s easy to recognize, easy to shrink, can stand alone, and can be created by modifying an actual copyright symbol. That’s fun.

  3. Mae December 13, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    looks like chanel.

Leave a Reply

